Stressed this Christmas? Get a Sparkle Box

A salon I drive by on a daily basis has a sign out front that changes to reflect current promotions and seasonal specials. This week, the sign reads, “Stressed this Christmas? Get a massage.” I’ll admit, a massage would feel good right about now. But I know the feeling wouldn’t last. If I could change the sign, it would read: Stressed this Christmas? Get a Sparkle Box.

In case you haven’t read The Sparkle Box: A Gift with the Power to Change Christmas, a Sparkle Box is a gift you give Christ on Christmas. About eight years ago, my husband and I started the tradition of giving a gift to Christ on Christmas morning, and it filled our home with a joy and peace we had never known. As I read the gifts we put in our box that first Christmas morning….mittens for those who don’t have any, a shoebox filled with toys and small gifts for a child in another part of the world… I could barely get the words out. It was the most humbling, moving experience I had ever had.

After that first Christmas, giving a gift to Christ became a focal point of the season. We talked about what we wanted to do to honor Him. We looked for opportunities and ways we could make a difference in the world, for His glory—not our own. And something amazing happened.  For the first time, I wasn’t stressing about how many cookies I baked or whether or not I got my Christmas cards out on time. I wasn’t fretting over whether or not I bought my children enough, or worrying that I bought too much. Christmas wasn’t about any of those things. It was about the joy of Christ coming to this world. It was about honoring Jesus on the anniversary of His birth. It was about celebrating a love that is deeper and wider than any other we’ll ever know.

Stressed this Christmas? Get a Sparkle Box and discover the joy and peace that comes from centering Christmas on Christ.

Share your thoughts

